Paraphernalia “before the fire” reactivates the rubble and scenographic remains of a film in progress. By searching through the great semantic garbage, Stefania Carlotti, Alessandro Polo and Marco Rigoni recycle a production to be by animating finished forms generated by sets of houses, roads, windows, pipes, panels, lamps, characters… Forde then becomes, for this first part of the Off-the-Cuff cycle, the cartoon of an exhibition art space which, between its sandbox-form and its monumentalization, adorns the vestiges of a memory stranded in obscure storage places located between our domestic spaces and the ice caps.

Off-the-Cuff is a three-part cycle. For each edition, Forde invites an existing piece to be staged by its authors. Through this gesture of abandoning the piece to the space of Forde, the idea is to kill the narratives that have been assembled by the exhibition and to consider them in their post-historical development: the activation of a potential that was not intended in the first instance, through its recycling and semantic fermentation.

In a way, it is a second-hand market of artistic production that opens up, where the original disintegrates into its presupposed use value, a reality that turns a pastiche into a pistache and willingly confuses productive instances, such as the artist, the dealer, the curator and the buffoon.

+ Share

From until

Paraphernalia “Before the fire” réactive les décombres et restes scénographiques d’un film en cours de réalisation. En fouillant la grande poubelle sémantique, Stefania Carlotti, Alessandro Polo et Marco Rigoni, recyclent leur production filmique en animant des formes finies et générées par des décors de maisons, de routes, de vitres, de tuyaux, de panneaux, de lampes, de personnages… Forde devient alors pour ce premier volet du cycle Off-the-Cuff, le cartoon d’un espace d’exposition qui, entre son bac à sable et sa monumentalisation, décortique les vestiges d’une mémoire échouée dans des lieux de stockages obscurs situés entre nos espaces domestiques et les calottes glacières.

Off-the-Cuff est un cycle qui se déroule en trois volets successifs. À chaque édition, Forde invite une pièce déjà existante à être mise en scène par ses auteur.x.s. Par ce geste d’abandon de la pièce à l’espace, il s’agira de tuer ses histoires construites par l’exposition et de les envisager dans son devenir post-historique: l’activation d’un potentiel qui ne lui était pas destiné par son recyclage et fermentation sémantique.

C’est en quelques sortes un marché d’occasion de la production artistique qui s’ouvre, où l’original se délite dans sa valeur d’usage présupposée, réalité qui transforme un pastiche en pistache et confond volontiers des instances productives, telles que l’artiste, le concessionnaire, le curateur et le pitre.

+ Partager

Du jusqu’au