Passing through the swinging doors constitutes minimal democratic effort to enter the vestibule. At that point, the shadow of Gal Knockout emerges saying: I love you, but under certain conditions, and I don’t count on you to satisfy them all.

This charming reception by Gal knockout in the vestibule also refers as much to human anatomy, as it does to antechambers that are traditionally present in certain homes. In the latter case it serves as a waiting place, physical preparation (we ready ourselves and we inspect ourselves) mixes with psychological conditioning (to discussions yet to come, to future joys and sorrows and to all sorts of strategies). The spatial synthesis of this exhibition, functioning through a system of open flaps and mazes, releases our inner animal which tries to understand its role and its determinations. To the image of a psychodynamic political zigzag - what could constitute the escape of the animal- The possibilities of interpretation are exhausted only when fatigue outweighs the reality of exposure anaesthetising us.

But this psychologization must resist the multiplying rumours that circulate the figure of Gal Knockout which represents as much, a species of pig “Used” for xenograft operations as it does, a “pretty” or “beautiful” human body assigned woman. In this chimerical association of two different bodies, Shirin Yousefi provides clues for which we are not the indispensable story tellers, although we are the epicentre of their experience: bizarre names are invoked in sub-text, like Rala or Sufu, many sounds specific to activities or movements such as the cracking and whistling of whips appear and follow us in tandem with our movements, lights slightly coloured with Kefir irradiate the exhibition with its beneficial properties for the intestinal flora, or even bottom holders or bionic forks, ready for use. It is as though we have become the inner monologues of potential incompetent actors who could not help but comment on real productions, but absent from the vestibule: the law of silence and its spectres (the commentary and its paranoid forms) as a place of exercise of power.

To the supposed indivisibility of our bodies, Shirin Yousefi then proposes a collaboration in production, a woman or a pig, between the burrowing snout and the Melusine, which operates on and dismembers organisms in as many ways as there are beliefs in our emotions as accountants, anatomists, doctors, politicians, manipulators, claimants and writers of children’s stories.

+ Share

From October 9 to November 27, 2020
Opening Thursday, 8 October.
Images Copyrights : Théa Giglio

Passer des portes battantes constitue un effort démocratique minimal pour rentrer dans le vestibule. À ce moment-là, l’ombre de Gal Knockout s’avance et dit: Je vous aime, mais sous certaines conditions, et je ne compte pas sur vous pour les remplir.

Le charmant accueil de Gal Knockout en ce vestibule se réfère aussi bien à l’anatomie humaine qu’aux antichambres présentes traditionnellement dans certaines maisons. Dans ce dernier cas il sert de lieu d’attente, la préparation physique (on s’y apprête et on s’y inspecte) se mêle au conditionnement psychologique (aux discussions à venir, aux joies et peines futures et aux stratégies de toutes sortes). L’unité d’espace de cette exposition, qui fonctionne par systèmes de rabats et de dédales ouverts, libère notre bête intérieure qui tente d’en comprendre son rôle et ses déterminations. À l’image d’un zigzag politique psychodynamique – que peut constituer la fuite de l’animal – les possibilités de lecture ne s’épuisent qu’au moment où la fatigue l’emporte sur la réalité de l’exposition nous anesthésiant.

Mais cette psychologisation doit résister à la multiplication des rumeurs circulant autour de la figure de Gal Knockout qui signifie autant une espèce de cochon « utilisée » pour des opérations de xénogreffes que le « joli » ou « beau » corps humain assigné femme. À cet assemblage chimérique de deux corps différents, Shirin Yousefi instille des indices pour lesquels nous ne sommes pas les indispensables scénaristes, bien que nous soyons l’épicentre de leur expérience: des noms bizarroïdes sont invoqués en sous-texte, tel que Rala ou Sufu, de nombreux sons spécifiques à des activités ou mouvements, tels des claquements et sifflements de fouets surgissent et nous suivent selon nos déplacements, des lumières légèrement colorées au kéfir irradient l’exposition de ses propriétés bienfaisantes pour la flore intestinale, ou encore des porte-fesses ou fourches bioniques sont prêtes à l’usage. C’est comme si nous étions devenu.e.s les monologues intérieurs de potentiel.le.s acteur.rice.s incompétent.e.s qui ne pourraient s’empêcher de commenter des productions réelles, mais absentes du vestibule: la loi du silence et de ses spectres (le commentaire et ses formes paranoïaques) comme lieu d’exercice du pouvoir.

A la supposée indivisibilité de nos corps, Shirin Yousefi propose alors une unité de production, une femme ou un cochon, entre le groin fouisseur et la mélusine, qui opère et démembre des organismes en autant de solutions que de croyances en nos émotions de comptables, d’anatomistes, de médecins, de politicien.ne.s, de manipulateur.rice.s, de revendicateur.rice.s et de scripteur.rice.s d’histoires pour enfants.

+ Partager

Pour cette exposition et en raison de la crise sanitaire, Forde est temporairement ouvert sur rendez-vous uniquement (mail@forde.ch).
Crédit photographique : Théa Giglio