With the artists : Douxerose ; Lazare Lazarus ; Nour Beetch et Lisa Lapierre ; Manuel-Stella Kerdraon ; Maïa Izzo-Foulquier ; Vi ; Théophylle Dcx.

And archives from the Centre Grisélidis Réal, the Swiss Literary Archives, audio interviews and editions, self-publications and a selection of brochures proposed by the Librairie La Dispersion.

Easily described as “the oldest profession in the world,” sex work often evokes distorted images in the eyes of people who are not familiar with the realities experienced by sex workers. They are represented either as victims of trafficking, deprived of their capacity to act and decide for themselves, or “glamorized” through various media or film productions well known to the general public. Nevertheless, sex work remains taboo in a large part of our Western societies, because it questions the moral foundations we have on work, especially female work, on the relationship to the body and on the use capital makes of it. 

Influenced by some writings which nourished us politically and by our own experiences, this exhibition wishes to put forward the artistic work of sex workers recognized or not by the institutions. Also, hard hit by the current health situation, which has once again highlighted the precariousness and stigma to which sex workers are subjected, the people invited for this exhibition, give us to see all the complexities of their reality of life, work, and struggle.

In parallel to the exhibition, we propose a series of events at the bookstore La Dispersion and at the cinema Spoutnik, allowing to give voice to the people concerned and to their allies, in order to generate meetings and discussions by and for sex workers but also for a wider public.

Le collectif occasionnel

Program in parallel of the exhibition

Roundtables and discussions
Thursday, January 27, 6:30 pm at Ressources Urbaines

Representations and pedagogies around sex work with Douxerose, Jehane Zouyene, Marianne Schweizer. Simultaneous translation into Spanish and English.

This roundtable is focused on the different ways sex work exists outside of the networks of struggles and life that are close to it. How to talk about sex work as a person affected, or how to make sex work visible as an ally in cultural or academic institutions? What is at stake in making this subject exist within these institutions? How do we make the struggles related to this more accessible to an unfamiliar audience?

If we wish to ask these questions, it is because it is not simply a question of making sex workers visible as such, but because we have a lot to learn from sex work and the experiences, as diverse as they are, of sex workers. Indeed, sex work is difficult to separate today from feminist struggles and from all emancipation struggles, as it holds within it a complexity of subjects. Autonomy, the right to dispose of one’s body, the free choice to live one’s life as one wishes, self-determination, alternative economies are so many objects of reflection that shape lives and in which more global struggles can take root. The aim of this discussion is to go beyond a binary majority discourse, swinging between fetishization and miserabilism.
Without denying the diversity of realities certain people experience, we will seek, through these interventions, to understand the stakes of the existence of sex work as a source of reflection, and how it can be made more accessible. For this, we will invite Douxerose, artist, Jehane Zouyene and Marianne Schweizer from the Grisélidis Réal archive center.

Thursday, February 17, 6:30 pm at Spoutnik

Struggles and local realities with Eva-Luna for Aspasie (Geneva), Cybèle for Strass (France), Téodora Niculescu for Paloma (Nantes), Berthe de Laon for the Fédération Parapluie Rouge (France)

In Western Europe, the legislation surrounding sex work is very different from one country to another. The policy in Switzerland, for example, is one of strict regulation, but which allows for legal practice, without being able to take advantage of social benefits such as unemployment or maternity leave (unless you take out insurance). In France, one of the latest laws in force is the penalization of clients, which makes the tds even more precarious, as they are practicing in a form of illegality, without any protection, all this in an abolitionist perspective.
This round table will therefore focus on the legal situation of sex workers in France and Switzerland, from which some of the artists in the exhibition come, thanks to the invitation of representatives of several associations fighting for sex workers’ rights in these two countries. We will also discuss the differences between concepts such as abolitionism, legalization and decriminalization. This discussion will also allow us to put forward strategies of struggle and alternatives to be able to work in the best possible conditions.

Screenings at Cinéma Spoutnik
Wednesday, January 19, 8:30 pm

“Karima” by Clarisse Hahn; (98 minutes), 2003
Karima is a young dominatrix of Algerian origin that Clarisse Hahn filmed throughout 2002. The artist focuses on the diversity of the modes of relation to others. This documentary film shows Karima in the intimacy of her family, with her friends or during domination sessions. SM takes on a maternal and generous aspect for this young woman. The body appears alternately as a source of pleasure or pain, an object of adoration or disgust, a vector of emotions or an impenetrable frontier.

“Selemela and the Pleiades” by Erika Nieva Da Cunha
Eight sex workers from Maseru, Lesotho accept to be fimed, and improvise scenes in which they sometimes exchange their own roles, sometimes those of their clients.

Wednesday, February 2, 8:30 pm

“Brothers of the night” by Patric Chiha, (88 minutes), 2016
Clearly inspired by a Fasbinderian aesthetic (Querelle’s lighting and costumes are cited in the opening), with Brothers of the Night, Patric Chiha decides to tell the complex story of the lives of a few Bulgarian Roma boys who sell their bodies in a Vienna nightclub. It’s not so much the dirty everyday life of the sex trade that matters, but the theatricality, the fables that everyone here maintains, clients as well as canvassers. For there is a lot of talk here, to conjure as much as to maintain, to dream as much as to show off.

“Blue Boy” by Manuel Abramovich, (19 minutes), 2019
Seven young Romanians who prostitute themselves with men in Berlin are filmed listening to recordings of their adventures

Wednesday, February 16, 8:30 pm

“Empower” by Marianne Chargois, (72 minutes), 2018
is a series of three portraits of sex workers with heterogeneous trajectories crossing migration paths, trans identities, feminism, the fight against HIV, the fight against precariousness and discrimination.

“Porn Family” by Louise Fauroux (30 minutes), 2019
Is an intimate journey with porn stars Kasey Warner, Chloe Cherry, Jade Baked, Bella Bathory. From cleaning up dog poop on a film set to live shows, we navigate between the behind-the-scenes of everyday life and the finished pornographic products. Community is their strength and the key to their commitment.

February 23, 8:30 pm (session introduced by a reading by Lazare Lazarus)

“The Prostitutes of Lyon Speak” by Carole Roussopoulos, (45 minutes), 1975
retraces the occupation of the Saint-Nizier church in Lyon in the spring of 1975 by some two hundred women prostitutes. They testify as “women and mothers” to demand an end to the police, fiscal and social harassment of which they are victims.

“Kaliarda” by Paola Revenioti (58 minutes), 2015
“Kaliarda” traces the history of a secret slang language invented by Greek sex workers. Used as a means of protection, this language was reappropriated by trans women and queers during the years of extreme repression.

Readings
Wednesday, February 9, 7pm at the Dispersion Bookstore

“Ponte en mis tacones”, by Diabla. Text in Spanish and French, in collaboration with the association Aspasie and Eva-Luna Perez

Thursday, January 13 in Forde

“Rose2Rage”, by Theophylle Dcx

Wednesday, February 23, 8pm at Spoutnik

“Quand la ville bande” by Lazare Lazarus

+ Share

Forde is open Fridays and Saturdays from 4pm to 7pm and by appointment (mail@forde.ch).

Avec les artistes : Douxerose ; Lazare Lazarus ; Nour Beetch et Lisa Lapierre ; Manuel-Stella Kerdraon ; Maïa Izzo-Foulquier ; Vi ; Théophylle Dcx.

+ lire la suite

Forde est ouvert les vendredis et samedi de 16h à 19h et sur rendez-vous (mail@forde.ch).

Et des archives du Centre Grisélidis Réal, des Archives Littéraires Suisses, des entretiens sonores et des éditions, auto-éditions et une sélection de brochures proposées par la Librairie La Dispersion.

Facilement qualifié de “plus vieux métier du monde”, le travail du sexe évoque souvent des images faussées aux yeux des personnes ne connaissant pas les réalités traversées par les tds**. Ils·elles sont représenté·e·x·s soit comme victimes de traite, destituées de leurs capacités d’agir et de décider pour elles·eux-mêmes, ou bien “glamourisé·e·x·s” à travers diverses productions médiatiques ou cinématographiques bien connues du grand public. Il n’en reste pas moins que le travail du sexe reste tabou dans une grande partie de nos sociétés occidentales, car il remet en question les fondements moraux que nous avons sur le travail, notamment féminin, sur le rapport au corps et sur l’utilisation que le capital en fait.

Influencée par certains écrits qui nous ont nourris politiquement et par nos propres expériences, cette exposition souhaite mettre en avant le travail artistique de personnes tds reconnues ou non par les institutions. Aussi, durement touché·e·x·s par la situation sanitaire actuelle, qui a mis à nouveau en lumière la précarité et les stigmas dont font l’objet les tds, les personnes invitées pour cette exposition, nous re-donnent à voir toutes les complexités de leur réalité de vie, de travail, et de lutte.

En parallèle de l’exposition, nous proposons une série d’événements à la librairie la Dispersion et au cinéma Spoutnik, permettant de donner la parole aux personnes concernées et à leurs allié·e·x·s, afin de générer des rencontres et des discussions par et pour les travailleur·euse·x·s du sexe mais aussi à l’adresse d’un public plus large.

Le collectif occasionnel
occasionnel.collectif@gmail.com

**Pour des questions de fluidité du texte, nous utiliserons régulièrement l’acronyme « tds » pour parler de travail du sexe et/ou de personnes travailleuses du sexe.

Programme en parallèle de l’exposition

Tables rondes et discussions

jeudi 27 janvier, 18h30 à Ressources Urbaines

Représentations et pédagogies autour du travail du sexe avec Douxerose, Jehane Zouyene, Marianne Schweizer. Traduction simultanée vers l’espagnol et l’anglais.

Cette table ronde concerne les différentes manières que le travail du sexe a d’exister en dehors des réseaux de luttes et de vie qui lui sont proches. Comment parler du travail du sexe, en tant que personne concernée, ou bien comment visibiliser le travail du sexe en tant qu’allié·e·x dans des institutions culturelles ou académiques ? Quels sont les enjeux à faire exister ce sujet au sein de ces institutions ? Comment rendre les luttes liées à cela plus accessibles pour un public peu familiarisé ?

Si nous souhaitons poser ces questions, c’est qu’il ne s’agit pas simplement de rendre visible le tds en tant que tel, mais parce que nous avons beaucoup à apprendre du travail du sexe et des vécus, aussi diversifiés qu’ils soient des travailleur·euse·x·s du sexe. En effet, le tds est difficilement séparable aujourd’hui des luttes féministes et de toutes les luttes d’émancipation, tant il tient en lui une complexité de sujets. L’autonomie, le droit à disposer de son corps, le libre choix de vivre sa vie comme on l’entend, l’autodétermination, les économies alternatives sont tant d’objets de réflexions qui façonnent des vies et dans lesquelles des luttes plus globales peuvent prendre source. Il s’agit grâce à cette discussion de dépasser un discours majoritaire binaire, balançant entre fétichisation et misérabilisme.
Sans nier la diversité de réalités que certaines personnes vivent, nous chercherons, grâce à ces interventions, à comprendre les enjeux de l’existence du travail du sexe comme source de réflexions, et comment celui-ci peut être rendu plus accessible. Pour cela, nous inviterons Douxerose, artiste, Jehane Zouyene et Marianne Schweizer du centre d’archives Grisélidis Réal.

jeudi 17 février, 18h30 au Spoutnik

Luttes et réalités locales avec Eva-Luna pour Aspasie (Genève), Cybèle pour le Strass (France), Téodora Niculescu pour Paloma (Nantes), Berthe de Laon pour la Fédération Parapluie Rouge (France)

En Europe occidentale, les législations entourant le travail du sexe sont très différentes d’un pays à l’autre. La politique en Suisse est par exemple celle d’une réglementation stricte, mais qui permet d’exercer dans la légalité, sans pour autant pouvoir profiter des acquis sociaux tels que le chômage ou le congé maternité (à moins de contracter des assurances). En France, une des dernières lois en vigueur est celle de la pénalisation des clients, qui précarise d’autant plus les tds qui se voient exercer dans une forme d’illégalité, sans aucune protection, tout cela dans une perspective abolitionniste.
Cette table ronde aura donc pour sujet l’état des lieux des situations légales des tds en France et en Suisse, dont certain·e·x·s artistes de l’exposition sont issu·e·x·s, grâce à l’invitation de représentant·e·x·s de plusieurs associations luttant dans ces deux pays pour les droits des travailleur·euse·s du sexe. Nous aborderons également les différences entre des concepts tels que l’abolitionnisme, la légalisation et décriminalisation. Cette discussion permettra aussi de mettre en avant les stratégies de luttes et les alternatives pour pouvoir travailler dans les meilleures conditions possibles.

Projections au Cinéma Spoutnik

mercredi 19 janvier, 20h30 

“Karima” de Clarisse Hahn ; (98 minutes), 2003
Karima est une jeune dominatrice d’origine algérienne que Clarisse Hahn a filmée tout au long de l’année 2002. L’artiste s’attache à la diversité des modes de relation à autrui. Ce film documentaire nous montre Karima dans l’intimité de sa famille, avec ses amis ou pendant des séances de domination. Le SM prend chez cette jeune femme un aspect maternel et généreux. Le corps apparaît tour à tour comme source de plaisir ou de douleur, objet d’adoration ou de dégoût, vecteur des émotions ou frontière impénétrable.

“Selemela et les Pléïades” d’Erika Nieva Da Cunha
Huit travailleuses du sexe de Maseru, Lesotho acceptent d’être fimées, et improvisent des scènes dans lesquelles elles ‘échangent tantôt leur propre rôle, tantôt celui de leurs clients.

mercredi 2 février, 20h30

“Brothers of the night” de Patric Chiha, (88 minutes), 2016
Clairement inspiré d’une esthétique fasbinderienne (les lumières et les costumes de Querelle sont cités en ouverture), avec ces Frères de la nuit, Patric Chiha décide de raconter la complexité de la vie de quelques garçons, rom bulgares, qui vendent leur corps dans une boîte de nuit de Vienne. Importe moins le quotidien crapoteux du commerce sexuel que la théâtralité, les fables que tout le monde entretient ici, clients tout comme démarcheurs. Car on parle énormément ici, pour conjurer autant que pour entretenir, pour rêver autant que pour frimer.

“Blue Boy” de Manuel Abramovich, (19 minutes), 2019
Sept jeunes Roumains qui se prostituent avec des hommes à Berlin se font filmer en train d’écouter des enregistrements de leurs aventure

mercredi 16 février, 20h30

“Empower” de Marianne Chargois, (72 minutes), 2018
est une série de trois portraits de travailleur·euse·s du sexe aux trajectoires hétéroclites croisant parcours de migration, identités trans, féminisme, lutte contre le VIH, lutte contre la précarité et les discriminations.

“Porn Family” de Louise Fauroux (30 minutes), 2019
est un voyage intime avec les stars du porno Kasey Warner, Chloe Cherry, Jade Baked, Bella Bathory. Du nettoyage de crottes de chien sur un plateau de tournage à des shows en live, nous naviguons entre les coulisses du quotidien et les produits finis pornographiques. La communauté est leur force et la clé de leur engagement.

23 février, 20h30 (séance introduite par une lecture de Lazare Lazarus)

“Les prostituées de Lyon parlent” de Carole Roussopoulos, (45 minutes), 1975
retrace l’occupation de l’église Saint-Nizier à Lyon au printemps 1975 de quelque deux cents femmes prostituées. Elles témoignent en tant que «femmes et mères» pour exiger que cesse le harcèlement policier, fiscal et social dont elles sont victimes.

“Kaliarda” de Paola Revenioti (58 minutes), 2015
“Kaliarda” retrace l’histoire d’un langage argotique secret inventé par des travailleur·euse·s du sexe grecques. Utilisée comme un moyen de protection, cette langue a été réappropriée par les femmes trans et les homos pendant les années d’extrême répression.

Lectures

mercredi 9 février, 19h à la Librairie la Dispersion

“Ponte en mis tacones”, de Diabla. Texte en espagnol et en français, en collaboration avec l’association Aspasie et Eva-Luna Perez

jeudi 13 janvier à Forde

“Rose2Rage”, de Théophylle Dcx

mercredi 23 février, 20h au Spoutnik

“Quand la ville bande” de Lazare Lazarus

+ Partager

Forde est ouvert les vendredis et samedi de 16h à 19h et sur rendez-vous (mail@forde.ch).